Why I will not finish 50 Shades of Grey

Image

A few days ago it was valentines day, so i figured I should talk about a romantic themed book. I am not the romantic type, so I have never been able to actually finish a romantic or exotic book, including 50 shades of grey, by E. L James. A friend recommended it to me, so I decided it was worth a read, unfortunately I was unable to make it past the first two chapters. These chapters basically talk about how the main character Ana, fills in for a important interview for her friend Kate who had come down with the flu. Ana goes to the interview, and is instantly attracted to Christian Grey (shocker). I stopped reading at this point because I had a feeling the book will be extremely predictable, repetitive, and I really hated the character Christian Grey. He is controlling, and shows many signs women should look for in abusive relationship, and if you have been in a abusive relationship, I would advise to not pick up this book.

Along with the fact I cannot stand Christian Grey’s character, this book is a fanfiction of Twilight, and needless to say probably has the same disappointing story line. The Twilight books and 50 Shades of Grey seem to share the same predictable story development, and sloppy grammar, which is why I would not recommend to waste your time reading either.

If you have a point that shows this book is worth reading, comment below!

Sources:

http://50shadesofbullshit.tumblr.com/

James, E. L. Fifty Shades of Grey. New York: Vintage, 2012. Print

8 responses

  1. It’s far too easy to hate a book you haven’t read.

    I recognize that your criticism has been echoed by others, (but typically, those people also didn’t read the series). I suppose I feel I have to defend this ridiculous book series because no else is going to here. Honestly, if people didn’t already know the Twilight connection, they wouldn’t have guessed. It was a decent story. Nothing brilliant, but no worse than many other books on the market. The plot isn’t nearly as linear as everyone assumes and the sex isn’t nearly as graphic either.

    Basically, the book appeals to its target demographic, middle aged women who are curious about exploring their sexuality, but are too shy to ever broach the subject publicly. It’s just another Harlequin romance; however, it topped best-seller lists around the world, including the United Kingdom and the United States for a reason. E. L James is just following Stephen King’s example, write a book that is marketed as sensationalistic, keep it mild, and sell millions of copies. That is brilliant.

    1. True enough, I thought I’d change up my posts by posting about a type of book I’m not particularly a fan of. I also wanted to get some conversation started about the book, since most the blogs I read about it either hated the book or loved the book, and there didn’t seem to be any in-between opinions. Although I probably will never finish the book, I’m glad to hear that it’s not as horrible as some people say it is. I also agree that E. L James is successful, and his work appeals to a lot of people, it’s just not a book I would invest my time in.

      I was hoping someone would defend it and pull up some good points. Thanks for the comment! (:

  2. The book “50 Shades of Grey” should be renamed “50 Shades of Domestic Violence.” Christian Grey should be considered as the villain of the story and he is a p.o.s.

    1. I totally agree! It frustrates me how women put him in this positive light. THe doesn’t have the type of traits any women or man should look for in a romantic partner. 😦

  3. When I teach Applied Communications, I assign a Catchbook grammatic, syntactic and typographic errors. Invariably, someone submits an example from 50 Shades of Grey. I feel like I’ve read the book even though I haven’t.

    1. My teacher did a similar assignment when I was in applied communications. A few students I talked to took examples from 50 Shades of Grey as well. It doesn’t seem to have the best reputation for good grammar!

  4. I can’t believe I wasn’t following your blog! I love it.

    50 Shades of Grey was the only book I have ever thrown in the garbage, and it felt soooooo good to do that. Oh yeah, Christian is a total dominating psychopath. But all that aside, the writing is absolutely atrocious. What person can read it and think it’s an excellent depiction of a healthy relationship, liberating sexual experience… or even a good, worthwhile novel?!?!?! If I had to read about how Ana blushed or bit her lip one more time I was going to snap.

    1. Thank you, I wasn’t following yours either, weird!

      The book made me cringe with the horrible grammar and weak storyline. I’m glad you agree!

Leave a Reply

