The Lord of the Rings Vs. The Hobbit

Image

There has been debates over whether J. R. R. Tolkien’s books, The Hobbit, or The Lord of the Rings, books were “better.” Personally, I think they are both brilliant books, and it really all depends what type of books you like to read.

The Lord of the Rings Trilogy are very detailed, and long books. They focus a lot of the books on small details, and it can get a bit repetitive. It has a well thought out storyline, but it takes a while to get through the details to finish it. The Hobbit is much more focused on the story, and does not repeat itself as much. It also has a variety of characters including many dwarves, and a dragon. It is more fast paced then The Lord of the Rings trilogy, and also has a good storyline.

I prefer The Hobbit book over The Lord of the Rings, because it was more to the point, and exciting. I also enjoyed the trilogy, it’s a refreshing book to read while travelling. I would highly recommend to give both a read! If you have not read either, I would suggest to read The Hobbit first, since it was written before The Lord of the Rings.

 

What book do you prefer? Leave a comment explaining why!

Sources:

Tolkein, J.R.R. The Hobbit. New York: Houghton Mifflin Company, 1973. Print.

Tolkien, J. R. R. The Lord of the Rings. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1967. Print.

http://www.tolkienlibrary.com/tolkien-book-store/000628.htm

 

8 responses

  1. That’s interesting, I didn’t know that people compared the two a lot. I’ve always looked at it more like they were all a part of the same story, since The Hobbit is a prequel.
    Plus, The Hobbit is a lot shorter, but The Lord of The Rings has a much longer and more epic story to tell. I agree that sometimes there seems to be excessive description/ detail in LOTR but that was his world, and I love the fact that he valued every little nook and cranny enough to dedicate ten pages to describing the scenery.
    It’s been a few years since I’ve read The Hobbit, but I love this entire series so much. I just love Middle Earth haha.
    Good review!

    1. I agree, I thought it was strange people were comparing them too! I was flipping through some Lord of the Rings blogs and seen lots of them saying how the hobbit was so much better. I think both books are good depending on what mood I’m in. I have a slight obsession with middle earth as well!

      Thank you, and thanks for the comment! (:

  2. The book for the Hobbit was what started it all off. It was more of a children’s book, and had no idea what a Hobbit was when he started. Out of it he created LOTR and then all the backstory we’re seeing in the Hobbit movies now (Like Sauron being alive). I’ve always considered the Hobbit the seed that grew into the White Tree of Gondor

    1. Well said, I think that a lot of people don’t read them in the right order and tend to compare them. I totally agree!

  3. I try to read or re-read one Tolkien book a year, so I’ve read both LOTR and The Hobbit multiple times. I definitely enjoy LOTR way more because of the incredible detail, but I can see how people become really frustrated with his lengthy descriptions of the scenery. So many people tell me that they tried to read it and gave up. I always recommend that people read The Hobbit first for that reason, just so they can get accustomed to characters, settings, and even different races (I don’t know how many times I’ve had to explain to my mom the difference between a hobbit and a dwarf…). That way they can read The Hobbit, move up to LOTR, and then tackle The Silmarillion, Unfinished Tales, etc. Part of why I enjoy LOTR so much may be because it was the first Tolkien book I read, back in grade 4. It took me the whole year to read all 3, but it was so worth it.

    I love that Tolkien treated Middle Earth as if it were history. There is such a rich background to everything, and I find I don’t really get that with The Hobbit, probably because it’s more of a kids book.

    1. I totally agree! People like the two books for different reasons, depending on their experience with the books. I can see why you prefer the LOTR series, since the Hobbit was originally a book for children. You’ll have to get your mom to read the series so she can learn the difference in detail! That’s too funny. Both books are definately good reads.

  4. I prefer the Hobbit…I found the Lord of the Rings long and too detailed for my liking. I lost the plot half way through the third book and having tried tirelessly for so long, I gave up. *groaannn* I’ll finish them oneday!!

    1. I know what you mean! They are good books overall.

Leave a Reply

