The Hunger Games: Books vs Movies?

Image

A popular question for any book series that has been recreated into a movie, is whether it’s worth reading the book, when you could watch the movie in a shorter amount of time.

Personally, I have only once seen a movie that has been better than the book, which was a very rare occurrence. I would always recommend to read the book and watch the movie, because it is two similar, yet different experience’s. When looking at the hunger game series, there are many differences between the book and movie, which in my eyes make the book better. The main difference is that in the book the point of view is from Katniss, and in the movie the point of view jumps from person to person. Having the point of view from one main character makes the story much more focused, and detailed. There are many other details throughout the book that are different from the movie. I really did love the movie as well, but I think it would be worth it to read both!  

I also do recognize that everyone is different in how they use media. Some people are visual learners, and enjoy the experience of watching a movie over reading the book. Others are read-write learners and get a better experience reading the book.

I would recommend to do both, if you think you would enjoy both ways like myself.

Let me know in the comments if you prefer books over movies!

Sources:

Collins, Suzanne. The Hunger Games. New York: Scholastic, 2008. Print.

http://www.secretlivesofobjects.com/lost-in-translation/

2 responses

  1. This is actually one of the only movies that I almost prefer to the books. Actually, let me limit that to the second book/ movie. I loved the first book, and while the first movies was good too, the book was definitely better.
    On the other hand, I was really disappointed by the second and third books, but the second movie I thought did a better job at making the events seem exciting. Plus, a big part of it for me is that I love Jennifer Lawrence’s portrayal of Katniss, she adds a life and a humour that the overly-serious book version of Katniss sometimes lacks.
    Interesting post, I’m curious which movie it was that you liked better than the book?

    1. Totally understandable, Jennifer Lawrence does a really good job of making the character more likeable. The book I liked the movie better than the book is Holes by Louis Sachar! I was obsessed with the book when I was younger, and when the movie came out, I thought it was even better!

Leave a Reply

